Sexversations

So I’ve found some real friends. The funny thing is that I’ve had them all along; I just didn’t know how amazing they could be. I’d love to write all about them and how I finally discovered that they are completely amazing people, but that’s not the point of this.

A week ago I had an interesting conversation with JJ. It started out innocently enough with her catching me up on all the news from the last semester. I’m not a pushy kind of person, so I don’t tend to ask for information. This leaves me in a bit of a tough spot sometimes because I don’t know what’s going on. However, I usually get filled in eventually so it’s all good. Eventually, our conversation turned to relationships and sex. I never thought I would be having conversations about sex with people 9 and 10 years younger than me, but that’s exactly what happened. I told her about my favorite positions and shared lots of interesting info. Since then, we’ve kept up the conversation in various forms and I’ve discovered that several other friends also like to talk about sex. Who knew? When I was in and just out of high school, we only talked about sex if there was a story to tell. We didn’t just have these “theoretical” conversations.

Tonight, I was showing JJ a website that I built that has art and poems, information about DID, and pages for alters in our system. Somehow that merged with our conversations about sex and she suggested that we build a website dedicated to sex (I think she suggested it anyways…will have to double check with her later). We had no idea what that would look like, but decided to try to figure it out and get something moving. We both come from families that didn’t sufficiently cover the topic with us. My mother had “a” talk with me when I was about 11 concerning my developing body and where babies come from. We never spoke about it again. JJ’s mom never even brought it up. She had to ASK for the sex talk before she went off to college. We are hoping to make a PG 13 sex resource that talks honestly about all of the things that we wish we had known and needed to know. No one can claim that the schools do a great job in preparing kids for it.

Another of our friends came over (a guy) and we asked what he thought. So, it looks like the three of us will be building a website all about sex. JJ will do a lot of the technical research. She had to learn it all on her own, so she’s pretty good at finding good information. “Guy” will be our resident male perspective. He also wants to learn web design, so he can help me with that. I’m the current web design guru among us, so hopefully I’ll be able to do that mostly.

Sadly, all three of us go to a college that dumps an insane amount of work on you in way to short of a time span. I know they all do that, but this one is particularly bad (really…heavy homework loads and irregularly short semesters). That means a very limited amount of time to work on the website. If all else fails, I suppose we can work on it via email over the summer.

The teen sex revolution is on its way.

~ by Kj on February 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
