My body and me

I’m not quite sure why, but my body and I haven’t been getting along this year. Please don’t think that I’m upset or complaining. I’m just very confused. When I was younger (a teenager and a young adult), I really abused my body. I didn’t take care of injuries like I should and NEVER took any time off when I got sick. I just kept on going like nothing was wrong. Obviously, it led to a lot more hassle. Now that I’m older and wiser, I take much better care of myself. I still do way too much and don’t take much time for myself, but at least I take care of my body when I need to. This is why I do not understand how my body and I got into such a major disagreement.

At the end of January, I carried some boxes that I shouldn’t have a pinched a nerve in my back. I have to admit that one really was all my fault. I spent a week barely moving and gave it a chance to chill out. It was finally starting to feel better when I sprained my ankle. Now, this wasn’t any normal ankle sprain. You’d think, since I’m a dancer, that I would have sprained it dancing or rehearsing, right? The day that I sprained it I had two dance rehearsals, two dance performances, and I went to a dance party. AFTER all of that,  I was walking in a straight like on a flat dry sidewalk when my ankle gave out. After spending a couple of days on crutches, I was finally back on two feet; limping, but back. The very next day I came down with the ultimate cold. Such are the perils of living in a dorm with a shared bathroom and everything else. Luckily, I moved out of the dorm and into my own apartment that’s less than a block away from campus. I thought I was safe. My body and I were in negotiations for a peace treaty. Life was GOOD!

And now I have the worst sore throat. I have so much homework to do, but I’m just dying to go home and drink some tea. I guess I’ll have to be nice to it for a while. Maybe I can make friends with it again if I play nice.

~ by Kj on February 22, 2010.

Leave a comment