The “new” DID debate

Apparently new research exists which suggests that DID is actually functionally different at a brain level.  They’ve been conducting fMRI scans (functional MRI allows them to see the brain in real-time to examine function instead of simply structure like what is seen in regular MRIs) on people with DID and people without. The differences suggest that “something” is definitely going on. At the same time, other research attempts to prove that DID is nothing more than a social construct. Similar to the debate of the 90s between the recovered memory and false memory camps, the debate over the true existence of DID rages on.

How do I know this? It’s not because I’ve read the research on the subject (yet). However, I will be reading it between now and Thursday because the debate will rage on in my Advanced Abnormal Psychology course. That professor, who also happens to be my advisor, knows that I have DID. I told her that I might not attend class on Thursday because I am not sure that I am prepared to listen to that debate. Luckily, she has a pretty open policy when it comes to missing classes for things like that. She also taught my introductory abnormal psychology class and told the class in advance that some topics are difficult for some people to sit through and to simply let her know if you needed to miss the lecture. So, she doesn’t mind if I skip Thursday’s class.

I’m undecided. I will email Therapist later to see if he has any insight. He is on vacation next week, but I have access to him via email until Friday so I may as well take advantage of it. I am a little bit worried about the debate. I’ve worked so hard in therapy over the past few months to overcome some really deep-seated denial. I’m still struggling with it, but not nearly as badly as I was. Most of the time I can accept the DID. I’m really not sure how I feel about listening to a bunch of my peers argue that DID doesn’t actually exist. I know that they don’t have any substantial knowledge on the subject and are basing their judgments and arguments on one article that suggests it is a social construct, but I don’t know if I’m ready to listen to a group of fellow students, some of them my friends, invalidate my reality.

I really need some advice on this one.

~ by Kj on March 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
