Negotiating a truce

I sprained my ankle three and a half weeks ago (February 6th), and it’s still having problems. I went back for a follow-up appointment because I was having a ton of pain above where the original sprain occurred. The doctor sent me for x-rays to look for a stress fracture. Clear. Then she referred me for a nuclear bone scan. Clear.

I went back and got the bone scan results today. Although they do not show a fracture, they do show some process exactly where I’m having all of the pain. The doctor is at a conference and the nurse practitioner I saw didn’t feel confident enough to try to diagnose anything else.

As far as I can tell, it might a be a high ankle sprain (but the pain isn’t in quite the right place) or a peroneal tendon strain. The second looks a lot more likely. The symptoms fit and the pain is in exactly the right place.

I’m performing in a dance showing tonight and have rehearsals all week. I need to figure out what’s going on. My body and I have been at odds since January. I’d really like to negotiate a truce. I promise to be nice to my body and take care of it if will stop hurting and heal.

~ by Kj on March 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
